SuperNats XXVI


2024 Winter Series


2024 Pro Tour


SKUSA Mexico

2024 TBA

2023 PKC


2023 TSRS


Latest SKUSA News

Tyler Bennett and Gustavo Menezes Awarded Jim Russell Future Driver Scholarship
Sunday, 29 November 2009 17:20

A successful weekend at the world’s largest kart race, SuperNationals XIII, has awarded two young drivers a chance at launching their careers in motorsports. Utah’s Tyler Bennett and Gustavo Menezes from southern California have each been awarded a scholarship to the 2010 Jim Russell Future Driver Selection.

Bennett, racing in the Stock Moto S3 category, was recently ranked number one by and backing up that ranking with his weekend’s performance at the SuperNationals. A heat race win and two seconds put Bennett on the second row for the all-important start of the main event. A back and forth battle between the top seven drivers saw Bennett pushed back to 6th position after contact at the half way point. Showing maturity beyond his age, Bennett passed his way back to finish a very impressive second.

Equally impressive, was Gustavo Menezes pulling double duty competing in both TaG Senior and KF2. Like Bennett, Menezes qualified second in the ultra competitive TaG Senior field out pacing veteran drivers Dan Wheldon and Michael Valiante. Menezes showed very well in race form and appeared to be on route to the main event win before minor contact in the final corner moved him to second position.

“Both Gustavo and Tyler put in great performances at SuperNats – we saw great potential in these drivers and look forward to their competing against many talented drivers from around the world at the Future Driver 2010 Selection.” Chip Pankow, President, Jim Russell Racing Drivers School.

Bennett and Menezes will travel to the Sonoma, California for the four-day Future Driver Selection that will take place December 19-22. The Future Driver Selection will see drivers compete in karts, Mitsubishi Evolutions sedans and the school’s FJR-50. The two winners of the Future Driver Selection will be awarded full seasons of racing in the 2010 Jim Russell Championship series.

The Jim Russell Championship Series is a 16 Race season held in the school’s Lola built, formula three derived FJR-50 in which the 2010 champion will be awarded a seat in the 2011 FIA Formula Two Championship season. More information available at